Advisory Board

The Center of Excellence is governed by an Advisory Board, members of which are appointed by the Massachusetts Trial Court. The Board reports to Chief Justice Carey and Court Administrator Harry Spence.  

Members of the Board include:

Carol Beck, Esq.
Director, Criminal Trial Support Unit, Committee for Public Counsel Services

Michael G. Bellotti
Norfolk County Sheriff

Michael Coelho, Deputy Commissioner
Massachusetts Probation Services

Hon. Kathleen Coffey, Director of Specialty Courts
Boston Municipal Court Department

Nancy Connolly, Psy.D., Assistant Commissioner of Forensic Services
Department of Mental Health

Edward Dolan, Commissioner
Massachusetts Probation Services

Kate DulitProgram Manager
Executive Office of the Trial Court, Judicial Institute 

Joseph Early, Jr., Esq., District Attorney
District Attorneys Association

Jack Macheachern
The Salvation Army

John McGahan, President and Chief Executive Officer
Gavin Foundation

Hon. Mary Hogan Sullivan, Director of Specialty Courts
District Court Department

Joseph Truschelli, Director of Communications
Department of Veterans' Services

University of Massachusetts Medical School:

Ira Packer, Ph.D., Director of the Center of Excellence for Specialty Courts and Professor of Psychiatry ​

David Smelson, Psy.D., Professor and Vice-Chair for Clinical Research, Department of Psychiatry

Gina Vincent, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Co-director of the Law & Psychiatry Program, Director of Translational Law & Psychiatry Research

Amy Thornton, B.S., Administrative Assistant